XO The Music is a new country/pop collaboration between bestselling authors Jeffery Deaver and Clay Stafford, based upon Deaver’s bestselling novel XO.

In Deaver’s novel, the story centers on a young country/pop singer, Kayleigh Towne, who encounters a stalker along the way. As with all Deaver books, things are not always as they seem.

Initially, Deaver, a #1 international bestselling author, wanted American Blackguard to record “Your Shadow” as a free download as a promotional tool for the novel. Stafford, president of American Blackguard Music, agreed to compose the music for the song and recruited long-time American Blackguard composer Ken Landers. Landers’ credits include a Who’s Who of recording artists across a variety of genres.

The collaboration between the three was so productive that Stafford suggested doing an entire album of the lyrics used in the book to be distributed by American Blackguard Records.

The songs on the album were recorded by Nashville recording artist Treva Blomquist, playing the role of Deaver’s main character.

Jeffery Deaver is the author of 27 novels and two short story collections. His books are sold in over 150 countries and translated into 25 languages. His book “A Maiden’s Grave” was made into an HBO movie starring James Garner and Marlee Matlin. His novel “The Bone Collector” was a feature release from Universal Pictures, starring Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. His thriller, “The Devil’s Teardrop,” was made into a TV movie by the Lifetime network, starring Natasha Henstridge, Tom Everett Scott, and Rena Sofer. Most recently, Deaver wrote the latest James Bond book, “Carte Blanche.”

Clay Stafford is an internationally bestselling author, filmmaker, and composer with his work in over 14 languages around the globe.

Ken Lander’s live and studio recording credits include projects for Trace Adkins, Pat Boone, Elvis Costello, Steve Earle, Peter Frampton, Vince Gill, David Byrne, Alan Jackson, Louise Mandrell, Kathy Mattea, Michael McDonald, Tim McGraw, Willie Nelson, N’Sync, Oak Ridge Boys, Marty Stuart, Travis Tritt, Hank Williams, Jr., ZZ Top, and more.

Deaver wrote the lyrics for the 11 songs on the album. Stafford and Landers composed the songs and produced the album. Elizabeth Maderia and David A. Burger, Jr. translated “Leaving Home” and “America the Beautiful” to Spanish. Stafford and Deaver executive produced.

Release date is scheduled for June 12, 2012 in the United States and Canada, June 21, 2012 in UK and Ireland, and August 12, 2012 in Italy. More world territories are to follow. Downloads are available on iTunes and other online music stores.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: